Google Plus Creating New Caller ID

I just discovered that Google’s new Android phones will start using information from Google Plus to display caller ID information (including name and photo) when the incoming caller is using a phone number registered through a Google Plus account. That means that if you have a Google Plus account associated with your phone number, and you call someone that doesn’t have your number in their contacts but is using an Android phone with their latest operating system (4.4 Kit Kat), your name and photo will still appear on their phone. Since the default setting on Google Plus allows for this, most people will likely be surprised when this happens. If you have a “unique” photo for your Google Plus account and have your phone registered on it, you should probably change your account settings to block this visibility. Otherwise, you could be setting yourself up for a new kind of social media blunder.

Here is how you can prevent your number from displaying your Google Plus information on the new Android phones:

  1. Login to your Google Plus account
  2. Click on your picture in the top right corner
  3. Select the link under your email address that says “account”
  4. Click on the link next to the heading “Phone Numbers” that says “View”
  5. Uncheck the box to the right of any phone numbers you want to make private.  The box turn off the feature “Help people who have your phone number find you on Google services and connect with you”
  6. You’re done- no need to hit save or submit. The change is complete.

 

The following two tabs change content below.

Leo Welder

Founder at ChooseWhat.com
Leo James Welder is from Corpus Christi, TX and moved to Austin, TX in 1996. Leo enjoys the Internet, agonizing over details, and being really busy.

Leave a reply